Root Chakra Quick Guide

Skip to… 2nd Chakra (Sacral), 3rd Chakra (Solar Plexus), 4th Chakra (Heart), 5th Chakra (Throat), 6th Chakra (Third Eye), 7th Chakra (Crown)

1st Chakra (Muladhara – Root – Red) Overview

The 7 primary chakras are energy centers within the body, located along the spine from the base of the pelvic region to the crown of the head.

Below is a quick list of the Root Chakras correspondences.

Astrological Correspondences

  • Associated Planet: Saturn
  • Tattva (Element): Earth; symbolized by a yellow square
  • Zodiac Signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Ascendant

Tarot Card Correspondences

  • The Emperor
  • The Devil
  • The World

Sanskrit & Symbol Correspondences

  • Sanskrit Name: Muladhara Chakra “root support”
  • Other Names: Base Chakra, Red Chakra
  • Sanskrit Letters: va, scha, sha, sa
  • Seed Mantra (center letter): Iam
  • Mantra Sound: LAM
  • Symbol: Four Petaled Lotus
  • Symbol Color: Red

Physical Correspondences

  • Location: Base of Spine, Coccygeal Plexus Region
  • Endocrine: Adrenal Glands
  • Organ: Spleen
  • Associated Body Parts: Womb, Legs, Arms, Intestines, Anus, Prostate, Bones, Nails and Teeth
  • Physical Function: Excretion
  • Related Functions: Adrenals, Fight-Flight Response, Bone and Skeletal Structure
  • Primary Focus: Physical Existence, Security, Instinct, Survival; Liberating Guilt & Fear
  • 7 Centers: Instinctive
  • Senses: Smell
  • Aura Layer: Etheric Body
  • Gender: Yang (Masculine)
  • Associated Animals: Bull, Elephant, Ox
  • Food Type: Flesh, Protein
  • Balanced Attributes: Grounded in Physical Plane, Centered, Stability, Vitality, Prosperity & Financial Success, Sense of Belonging, Physical Health, Ambition, Self Expression, Connection with Nature and Natural Law
  • Unbalanced Attributes:
    (Mental) Spaciness, Inability to Focus, Poor Memory, Low Self-Esteem
    (Physical) Blood Disorder, Bowel or Digestive Problems, Bone Disorder, Excessive Weight Gain or Loss, Low Sex Drive
    (Emotional) Instability, Chronic Anxiousness, Hopelessness, Fearful
    (Other) Inability to Trust, Finance Problems, Materialism, Victimization

Other Correspondences

  • Associated Deities: Indra, Ganesha
  • Egyptian Deity: Osiris
  • Gemstones: Garnet, Bloodstone, Hematite, Red Jaspar, Tourmaline, Agate, Ruby, Smokey Quartz, Jet, Coral, Rhodonite, Onyx
  • Essential Oils: Cedar, Cypress, Clove, Patchouli, Sandalwood, Vetiver, Marjoram, Myrrh, Frankincense
  • 7 Sins: Sloth
  • Tone: C
  • Vowel: UH
  • Frequency: 396Hz
  • 7 Rays: 4th Ray “Harmony through conflict”
  • Right: “To Have”
  • Direction: Points Downwards
  • Role: Scholar
  • Archetype: Anchor
  • Affirmation: I Am
  • Right: “To be here”

Skip to… 2nd Chakra (Sacral), 3rd Chakra (Solar Plexus), 4th Chakra (Heart), 5th Chakra (Throat), 6th Chakra (Third Eye), 7th Chakra (Crown)

Learn to Balance Your Chakras for Physical & Financial Wellness

Written by Melanie Mozzet