Your 7 Chakra Energy Centers & the Benefits of Chakra Meditation

Quick Chakra Overview

Before we discuss the benefits of Chakra Meditation… Exactly what are the Chakras?

Our chakras are several vital points of energy within our subtle bodies. Each vital point of energy is active at all times consciously or unconsciously, and each greatly influences the events that happen in our lives.

The term “chakra” meaning wheel or cycle is used to represent these seven vital spinning energy centers of power.

Our chakras are located along what would be the spinal column of the subtle body and each of these seven primary chakras possess its own distinctive property and affects the area it is near.

The Root Chakra found at the base of the spine in the coccyx region is known to affect the health, structure and safety of a person. Across our four bodies (physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual) the root chakra governs sexuality, stability, sensuality, and our survival. It is associated with the adrenal medulla. This particular chakra is traditionally known in Sanskrit as muladhara and is associated with how one’s body links to the physical world. It is also associated with a red-colored circle surrounded by four golden lotus petals.

More on the Root Chakra

The Sacral Chakra located near the pelvis in the sacrum region is known to affect one’s feelings of love, passion, sexuality as well as sensual pleasures. It is associated with the genitourinary system (reproductive and urinary) and governs reproduction, creativity, pleasure, and enthusiasm. This chakra known traditionally in Sanskrit as Svadhishthana is associated with the bodies basic emotional needs. Its corresponding symbol is represented by an orange-colored circle with six petals surrounding it.

More on the Sacral Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located just above the navel and below the chest in the upper abdomen region. This vital point is connected to the adrenal glands and known to affect one’s force and willpower. This chakra governs digestion, personal power, expansiveness, and all matters of growth. It is where our sense of authority, discipline and self-control meet. Manipura is its traditional name in Sanskrit and it’s represented by a yellow ten petaled lotus.

More on the Solar Plexus Chakra…

The Heart Chakra can be found at the center of one’s chest. This chakra is known to affect love and understanding. This chakra is connected to the thymus and governs circulation, unconditional love, passion, and devotion. In Sanskrit this chakra is known as Anahata and is represented by a twelve petal green lotus.

More on the Heart Chakra

The Throat Chakra is a vital point located in the throat area. It is known to affect one’s communication and sense of expression. This chakra governs communication, freedom, clarity in thought, and a sense of security. It is called Vishuddha in Sanskrit and is associated with the thyroid gland. With sixteen petals this lotus is associated with a sky colored blue.

More on the Throat Chakra

The Brow Chakra or the Ajna is a vital point found in the forehead region, just above the eyes also giving it the name Third Eye Chakra. This chakra is known to affect our sensitivity to spaces outside of the physical realm. This chakra governs intuition, visual consciousness, and intuitive clarity. This clairvoyance-related focus point is associated with the pineal gland and is symbolized by an indigo colored two petal lotus.

More on the Third Eye Chakra

The Crown Chakra is an important vital point at the top of the head. Known as Sahasrara it affects the mind and spirit and is associated with one’s consciousness and that which relates to the higher self. This chakra governs meditation, universal consciousness, and being. It is represented by a thirty-three petal violet colored lotus and is associated with the pituitary gland.

More on the Crown Chakra

Practicing the Chakra Meditation can benefit you greatly by awakening your vital energy points and creating balance and harmony within your being. Chakra meditation should be done at a slow pace and with proper research or guidance from an expert otherwise possible personality problems and mental instabilities may arise.

Skip to… 2nd Chakra (Sacral), 3rd Chakra (Solar Plexus), 4th Chakra (Heart), 5th Chakra (Throat), 6th Chakra (Third Eye), 7th Chakra (Crown)

Learn How to Balance Your Chakras Here

Written by Melanie Mozzet